How to Cook Scrapple

Scrapple is an awesome food. I know people get a little squeamish around it, and to a point rightly so, as the namescrapple and scrambled eggs implies it is in fact the “scraps” of pigs. It is not for the faint of heart….or stomach….to actually read the ingredients list on the scrapple package. If you do read it, things like pork snouts, hearts, and livers will be on the list.

For those who grew up with this delicacy or are brave enough to get past the idea of the food and actually try it, it is in all sense of the word a delicacy. Rich pork flavor with a buttery texture and a slightly smokey taste is what makes this “meat” so special. Yes, it is an acquired taste and I think it is one of those “love it or leave it” foods. But for those of us who love it, we just can’t get enough!

I have cooked scrapple many different ways but the best way I find to cook it is to pan fry it. First, slice the scrapple block into thin slices.

block of scrapple

sliced scrapple

Next step is to put the slices in a pan. Leave a little room between each slice otherwise they will stick together. There is no need to grease or oil the pan as there is enough grease in the scrapple for it not to burn.

scrapple in pan

Here is the secret for cooking it….leave it alone! Put it in the pan and leave it until the underside gets nice and crispy and brown. You can almost tell just by looking at them when they are done on the bottom side as you will see the edges start to brown.

scrapple starting to brown

Then, flip to the other side and leave until that side gets nice and crispy and brown.

crispy scrapple

Perfectly crispy scrapple!

Once the scrapple is brown on both sides it is ready to eat! Scrapple is great with eggs cooked to your liking and can also go perfect with pancakes or waffles.

scrapple and scrambled eggs

So for all those curious about scrapple, I hope you try it and for those out there that love it, I hope you let me know your favorite ways to cook and eat it!

This blog post shared with: Fresh Eggs Daily – From the Farm Blog Hop

Tags: , , ,

15 responses to “How to Cook Scrapple”

  1. divedaddy03 says :

    Mmmmm, that sure makes pig scraps look super good! I may take your suggestion and try them with the buttermilk pancakes that I did in this post. http://aworld4change.wordpress.com/2013/05/02/how-to-make-fluffy-buttermilk-pancakes-like-ihop/ Nice post, thanks! Wayne

  2. Shawn says :

    Thanks! Havent had scrapple in years, forgot how delicious it was!\

  3. Pam says :

    I grew up eating scrapple, as my father and grandparents before me had. Last year on my way back to Vermont from North Carolina, I stopped at Stolzfus Meats in Intercourse PA an d bought four 5# loafs.
    I love scrapple and even my dyed- in-the-wool, bacon-eating Texan husband loves it too.

    • vermontfarmheart says :

      Love it! Same here – even my meat and potatoes, nothing-he-can’t-recognize-eating husband will eat scrapple when I make sure it is super crispy and served with a side of scrambled eggs!

  4. Viktorria says :

    My favorite way to eat scrapple is to let it get brown and crispy then chop it all up in the pan and add some chopped whole leaf spinach to it then I add salt and pepper and eat it with some fruit.

  5. Wayside Artist says :

    Thank you! I finally discovered through your post why my scrapple gets soggy. I use oil in the pan. Can’t wait to buy another loaf to fry correctly.

  6. jake says :

    i recently had scrapple that was fried, but when served they had opened one side and it was like oatmeal…was awful and wasn’t hot…..is this good??

  7. Bryan says :

    This is how my grandmom did it and I still do. I was curious to see how other people cooked it so I searched and was surprised to see so many saying to use flour and lots of butter or oil. I never heard of it.
    I have mine with eggs over easy and dip it in the yolk, or with ketchup and/or sriracha

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. The 7 Most Intense Regional Food Items – Lewd Foods - April 14, 2017

Leave a comment

The New Vintage Kitchen

A Vermont innkeeper's collection of seasonal vintage recipes, reimagined for today's cooks.

In Dianes Kitchen

Recipes showing step by step directions with pictures and a printable recipe card.

Hunting for Vintage

For the love of old things and the joy of finding them new homes.

the bookworm

book reviews, crochet, etc.