Swedish Cardamom Bread using a Bread Machine

The larger part of my family is Swedish. We like pickled herring, butter, rice pudding, lingonberry, did I mention butter, and ofcardamom bread course, cardamom bread. Cardamom bread is the ultimate comfort food in our house. My grandmother would bake this bread for all of the holidays as well as any kind of gathering that would involve coffee…which being Swedish meant all of the time. They say that smells have direct links to memories and every time I smell this bread baking I am reminded of my grandmother.

Traditionally this is a bread that would take all day to make. It is supposed to rise several times and you would have to shell and grind the cardamom by hand. It is a sweet bread that usually has a sugar or icing topping and is sometimes topped with sliced almonds.

We love this bread but honestly, it can be a pain to make. That is until I realized you can make a pretty darn good cardamom bread in about a quarter of the time when you use the bread machine!

I have not attempted to actually make the entire bread/recipe in the bread machine, just the dough part. This works well because all you do is toss in the ingredients, turn your machine on to the dough setting, and then in about an hour and a half, you have beautiful cardamom bread dough that you can braid and then pop into the oven!

3/4 cup warm milk

2 1/4 teaspoons yeast

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup of butter softened (slice or chunk if it is not softened for better results in the bread machine)

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom

1 egg

3 cups flour

Place all of the ingredients into the bread machine in given order. Select dough cycle.

bread machine

When the dough is done, using floured hands, remove from machine and divide into three balls.

dough in bread machine

dough balls

Roll each ball into long (about 14 inches) ropes.

dough rope

Braid the three ropes together making sure to tightly pinch together and tuck the ends underneath so they do not come apart when baking.

braided dough

Place your braided loaf on a baking sheet and cover loosely with a towel. Let the loaf rest and rise for about 10 minutes.

Brush the loaf with milk and then sprinkle with sugar. Bake in the oven at 375°F for 20 – 25 minutes or until the top is light brown and when tapped, the loaf sounds hollow. If it needs a few more minutes, cover with tin foil and put back in the oven until done.

baked cardamom bread

slices of cardamom bread

I hope you all enjoy this recipe as much as we have. Just don’t forget to serve it with butter!

This blog post was shared at: From the Farm Blog Hop

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Swedish Cardamom Bread using a Bread Machine”

  1. Fresh Eggs Daily says :

    My grandmother was Finnish and made a similar bread. I also have a bread machine recipe, but I do the whole thing in there. I really love the braid, so I am going to try your recipe and just do the dough part in the machine. Thanks for sharing on the From the Farm Blog Hop this week.
    Lisa
    Fresh Eggs Daily

    • vermontfarmheart says :

      It certainly is a popular Scandinavian treat! Almost anyone I meet who has some Finnish, Swedish, Danish or Norwegian heritage has memories of this cardamom bread! I love your weekly Blog Hop and appreciate the chance to share my posts! Thank you for reading and commenting!

  2. Susan Hady says :

    OMG, both my grandparents came from Sweden also. My grandmother went to cooking school in stockholm that is the reason she came to our country. Could she cook and bake. Her hands would fly with. The braiding and the card bread was the bomb! I am going to do this recipe and i am so excited for xmas i am also making limpa bread in the bread machine. I went to sweden in 2010 stayed with family had a blast with my mom and our cousins. But, they no longer cook like grandma did. I lost weight. Lol. Thats ok being with family was the best part of the trip..l. I was so looking forward to grandmas cooking but it didnt happen. Thank god i have her recipes and my mother who is full blooded sweed taught me. Little but its so mch work. Yes, my children love pickled herring. I am also making swedish tarts with Almond paste glaze and such. Gosh, i hope they all appreciate their heritage was going to make glogg but got worried they have to drive home. Thanks for living your swedish memories i have the same ones. But mine included grandpa wearing an apron with grandma in the kitchen and grandpa giving a grandma a kiss on the cheek quite often this happened. They were awesome. Miss them a lot…

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

