British Comedy, Biscotti, and Tea

There is something so comforting about a crunchy biscotti biscuit Easy Vanilla Walnut Biscottiand a hot cup of tea. This is how I wind down almost every evening after work. Tea is just one of those comforts in my life and what goes better with a relaxing cup of tea than a biscuit. Biscuits and tea is a very British thing and I think something I learned while watching all those British comedy shows on PBS as I was growing up. I still love Saturday nights on PBS when shows like Are You Being Served, Keeping Up Appearances, As Time Goes By, and one of my top favorites, To The Manor Born are on. These nights I’m very thankful for two televisions in the house as that is my time to indulge in these shows and a hot cup of tea and no one can complain they want to watch football or something else that gets my nerves in a tangle. These are the quiet moments that I can just laugh and relax!

Thus, I usually have some lovely homemade biscuits (that’s really just British for cookies…the most popular being the digestive biscuits that the British are known for eating alongside their rich teas) in a nice tin that I hide for myself that I can snack on. One of my favorite cookies to make is a lovely vanilla and walnut biscotti that goes terrific with tea. A perfect tea cookie really as if I want to feel really British while watching my shows, it is a nice hard cookie that I can dunk in my teacup.

This is a very easy, simple, no-frills, recipe to follow and the only time consuming part is cutting the cookies into nice slices before returning them to the oven to twice-bake (Biscotti is Italian and is derived from the word meaning twice-cooked so it makes sense) and become crunchy and hard.

You will need:

1/2 cup of salted butter, softened

1 cup white sugar

3 eggs

1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract

3 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 cup chopped walnuts

In a large bowl, beat the sugar, butter, vanilla, and eggs together. Add in the flour and baking powder and mix until well combined. Fold in the nuts.

Biscotti dough

Once the nuts are folded in, split the dough in half and shape the dough into two long logs on a baking sheet making sure to flatten off the ends as best you can. The dough should be about 1/2-inch thickness.

Biscotti dough ready

Bake at 375 degrees F. for approximately 25 to 30 minutes until lightly brown on top.

Baked Biscotti

Remove from the oven and cool. When the logs are cool enough to handle, slice the logs into 1/2 cookies and place back o the baking sheet. Bake for an additional 6-8 minutes. Remove the sheet from the oven and flip each cookie over to the other side and put back in the oven for another 6-8 minutes or until all of the cookies are nicely toasted and light brown around the edges.

Cheers!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

