July and Some August Garden Thoughts and Photos

Well, I’m not sure how July snuck by me but I woke up the other morning and realized it was already August! My weekdays have been filled with workgarden view from the porch and traveling and so my weekends have been used to try to take it slow. That means reading, drinking wine (while reading), visiting with friends, going to local events, and of course working in my garden.

I have to admit the herb and rose garden took a dive this summer. The lack of rain killed quite a few of the herbs. I had been traveling and nobody thought to water the garden….my owe fault for not reminding people! The roses didn’t do so hot over the winter so the new ones that I planted are just holding on and the weeds decided to come back with a vengeance. Some days I find fighting back nature to feel counterproductive and overwhelming so I had taken a weekend or two off from managing that particular garden. Now, it seems to be all wire grass and weeds. I have it on my to-do list but it somehow keeps finding itself on the bottom. I might just let it go and then in the fall dig most of it all out so I can start fresh next spring.

The perennial garden is doing great though with the phlox, daylilies, echinacea (commonly known as coneflower), bee balm, rudbeckia, and gooseneck loosestrife (butterflies love this flower) all blooming and attracting the local wildlife. I’ve been able to keep that relatively weed-free, though now that I’m writing this sitting on the porch, I see some green strangers that don’t belong where they are!

20160722_182130 20160722_18202020160802_175332

Our family vegetable garden and blueberry bushes are coming along. We had our first tomato the other day – so good! There are about five more on the vine that are almost ready to pick. I know I’ve already mentioned it, but here I thought I had done so well this year getting started early only to find with the drought, most of the garden is behind. My “Forth of July” tomatoes are only now just turning red! Ah well, nothing like squash and other veggies in the early fall when everyone else’s gardens are dying down! I fear though that the melon plant I started from seed in the house will never be able to produce fruit in time.

20160730_17154320160730_171236

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “July and Some August Garden Thoughts and Photos”

  1. Eliza Waters says :

    So much to do, so little time! I like the reading and drinking wine part… 😉

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

