Herbs, Perennials and Antiques

I have been having TOO much fun lately! After all of the Relay’s I’ve still been working hard but have been enjoying my weekends. The gardens are brimfield2coming along, though some plants seem to be doing better than others. Our pepper plants (six in all) have decided to only produced ONE pepper per plant which is odd. The squash plants took a long time to grow but now are filled with blossoms and we can’t wait for squash! The pumpkins are also doing well. I’ve been spending any of my free time in the garden or working on some small craft projects. Lately those two passions have combined, especially after spotting a great way to use antiques with my plants! This past weekend I managed to head down to the Brimfield Antique Show. We always have a blast and make it a “girls day out” with my sister and friends. brimfield1  This year was wonderful as always and while there I spotted a booth that was doing herb and flower arrangements in antiques! Well, heck, I have a full barn of antiques and figured I could try some myself. Check out these adorable herb and flower creations I’ve been putting together!

mini black-eyed susan's in a copper kettle

mini black-eyed Susan’s in a copper kettle

red verbena in an antique tin box

red verbena in an antique tin box

two old tins with orange thyme planted in them

two old tins with orange thyme planted in them

window box mixed with herbs and flowers

window box mixed with herbs and flowers

I have some herbs and perennials that need to be split and I think I’ll be creating more of these fun finds this weekend!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

