Dry Skin? Make Your Own Honey Coconut Body Wash

I don’t know about you, but in the winter, my skin gets super dry. My elbows and knees become sandpaperhomemade honey and coconut oil body wash and most of my fingers crack which can be pretty painful. On any given winter night I can be seen going to bed with multiple band aids on my fingertips to help heal cracked skin. My skin resembles that of an alligator and I go through quite a bit of moisturizer.

I have tried and used so many different kinds of body washes and shower gels that say they provide 24 hour replenishing moister and all other claims but still, my skin always goes dry in the cold, harsh winter months.

So instead of investing in all of these mostly chemical body washes, I have found a great alternative that actually leaves my skin feeling soft and helps keep it from drying out to bad. Yes, my fingers seem to still bear the tell-tale signs of winter as no matter how much cream I put on them, they still crack. But that’s what happens when you use your hands a lot, keeping chickens, potting plants, shoveling snow, washing dishes, all those necessary everyday chores that keep you busy. That’s okay, I consider them a badge of my hard work. The rest of the body though, I would much rather have that stay hydrated.

And so, I discovered through trial and trial again, a great and simple recipe for homemade body wash! Honey has so many amazing benefits for the human body that it makes the perfect ingredient along with the moisture from coconut oil. It leaves your skin soft and smelling sweet (but not overpowering) and feeling darn good in these winter months!

I make this about once every two weeks and keep it right in the shower. It makes only a few minutes to make and depending on how often you use it (for me it is a daily routine) it will last between two to four weeks. You can easily half, double, or even triple the batch though I find the scent seems to not last as long so I make smaller batches more often.

I reuse a pump hand lotion bottle for this but any shower friendly container would work. Squeeze bottles are good too. All of the ingredients can easily be found in your grocery store and online (for the soap and oils) and are relatively inexpensive.

1/4 cup coconut oil

1/4 cup raw local honey

25 drops orange essential oil

14 drops lavender essential oil

1/2 cup unscented liquid castle soap

In a glass measuring cup, gently melt the coconut oil in the microwave. Try not to get it too hot by microwaving it in small increments until it is just melted.

Mix in the honey and whisk until combined. Add in the essential oil and mix again.

adding the honey to the oil

adding the essential oils

Once mixed well, gently pour in the liquid soap and whisk slowly until combined – being careful not to mix too vigorously as the soap will foam.

adding the soap

mixing the body wash

Pour into your bottle or container and cap. Use on wet skin in the shower with a soft cloth or a buffing sponge. Rinse well.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Dry Skin? Make Your Own Honey Coconut Body Wash”

  1. Eliza Waters says :

    Great recipe – thanks! I apply Avalon Organics Lavender body lotion on my hands before I go to bed and it’s been the only lotion to keep my hands from cracking and smells better than BagBalm which I used for many years!

    • vermontfarmheart says :

      Mmmm! LOVE the smell of lavender! I’ll have to look for that one! BagBalm was a staple at our farm when we were in high lambing season! Super nice on those hands in the cold season šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

