Quick Skinny Asparagus Soup

Nothing beats a cup of soup on a cold winter day. Now most days when I’m working I settle with poppingeasy skinny asparagus soup recipe open a can of Campbell’s but today I decided to actually take a lunch break and make something wholesome and warm for the tummy and the soul.

I had some asparagus ends leftover from dinner last night and wanted to experiment a bit. Now when I cook asparagus I hold both ends and “snap” my stalks to see where the woody part ends and the soft asaparagus begins. Then using that one stalk as my guide, I cut the rest of my stalks. It saves time, but I do end up with some usable pieces that I decided to save. So, today, when I grabbed the bag of asparagus ends, I found about a cup worth of soft bits when I “re-snapped” the pieces.

So, I had a good lunch time today playing around with what I had in the fridge and wound up with a pretty darn good cup of soup.

About a cup of asparagus pieces

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 large carrot

1 (1-ounce) tub (Knorr concentrated stock) of beef stock

2 cups water

1/4 cup potato flakes (optional)

Ground pepper to taste

In a medium sauce pan, heat the olive oil and add in the asparagus pieces and the carrot, sliced. Cook on medium heat until the vegetables soften and start to gain color.

cooking the veggies

Add the concentrated beef stock and water and simmer for 15 minutes. Once cooked together, let cool.

Using either an emersion blender or a stand blender, puree the mixture until smooth.

puree the stock and veggies

Pour back into the sauce pan and add the 1/4 cup of potato flakes (adding these makes the soup thick and creamy without having to add cream but for a thinner soup leave out) and stir well. Add pepper to taste and put back on heat to bring back to a simmer. Once the soup is heated through, serve hot with a side of crusty bread.

reheating the soup

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

