Pulling up Peas

pulling up peasI can’t believe it is the middle of August already. I know this without looking at the calendar because my tomatoes are ripe on the vine and my peas have shriveled up and turned brown.

This to me actually means not only the middle of summer, but the coming of the fall. A time when I can begin to think about my fall planting. The two fall crops that I tend to plant mid summer are a second batch of kale and more dill. I always think I have planted enough dill but with pickling and summer salads, I use it up faster than I think. A second planting is perfect for all the late summer and early fall dishes. I usually try to dry any remaining fall dill as I use that on our many of our fish dishes throughout the winter season.

The kale we have been eating in salads, stir-fry’s, pastas and have just started drying for my winter soups. As kale can take colder weather and actually becomes sweeter with the cold, a fall planting is a good idea. Yay, more kale!

So, yesterday when I had a moment in the early evening, I went out and pulled up the peas. The chickens were the happy recipients of the pea plants which they ate with gusto. I then weeded the bed and planted two more rows of kale and three more rows of dill.

planting dill and kale

My favorite part of spring is to play in the dirt and plant new life so it is always a nice to be able to do that again when things are starting to fade.

a new bed

This post shared on From the Farm Blog Hop

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Pulling up Peas”

  1. Judy @ newenglandgardenandthread says :

    I pulled my peas up last week. Hate to think about it, but our gardening season is starting to draw toward a close. 😦

  2. Eliza Waters says :

    With the cooler weather, it feels like summer is going especially quickly this year. Wah!

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

