A Walk on the Lake

I fear falling through the ice, but in Vermont when our local lake can get up to 2-feet thick, I enjoy walking on the lake. What a different perspective it is standing in the middle and looking out over a white surface. Today, the white surface was dotted with ice fishing shanties (which reminded me of a few scenes in Grumpy Old Men!) and fishing holes. The other neat thing about walking on the lake was being able to see the shore from a different perspective. Apparently the birds agreed as they didn’t seem to mind me at all and allowed me to get up close for a few great photos!

walking out on the lake

ice shantiesfishing holes

woodpecker

friendly woodpecker This post shared on From the Farm Blog Hop

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “A Walk on the Lake”

  1. Eliza Waters says :

    Not being a fishing enthusiast, and a bit creaky these days for ice skating, I seldom go out on the lake, but your comment about perspective has grabbed my interest and inspired me to head on over to see what I can see. Thanks!

  2. KerryCan says :

    Funny–I blogged about walking on Lake Champlain ice a few weeks ago! But I didn’t get great bird photos, like you did!

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

