Easy Overnight Crusty Artisan Bread

So I have been seeing these recipes all over the internet for an overnight easy artisanal bread that requires no kneading and only with a few ingredients. Well, I needed a good crusty bread to bring to my cookbook club the easy crusty artisan breadother night and figured I would give this a try. Damn if this isn’t a miracle way to make the ultimate crusty, gorgeous, soft and chewy on the inside artisan bread!

This bread is baked in a Dutch oven or a heavy covered casserole dish. There are only 4 ingredients. It does require a little prep in the sense that you need to know ahead of time that you want to make this as you have to let the dough sit overnight. Other than that, this truly is a super easy way to get the kind of bread we all crave and shell out big bucks for at the store.

I purchase my flour and yeast at the discount store so one loaf of this bread costs me about $1.50 to make (including use of my oven). Since the cheapest artisan bread is no less than $5 at the store, this sure is a cost-effective way to keep my family bread happy. Besides, this bread is so easy and disappears so fast in my house that I usually double, and sometimes triple this recipe. Making more of this dough is no problem at all. So, try this out and let me know what you think!

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon rapid rise yeast

1 1/2 cups warm water

The Night Before:

Put all of the ingredients in a large bowl. Mix until it is a gooey dough. Cover with plastic wrap and a towel and place somewhere warm overnight.

mixing ingredients

dough

The Next Day:

Preheat your oven to 450°F. Once the oven has reached 450°F place your Dutch oven (with the lid) in the oven for 30 minutes.

While your dutch oven is getting hot, remove your dough from the bowl – you do this by dumping out the dough (simply tip it out of the bowl and it will slowly dump right out) onto a generously floured surface.

dough the next morning

dough the next morning

Once the dough has dumped out onto the surface, use floured hands to gently shape the dough into a loose ball. Don’t knead the dough, just shape it so that it is covered in flour and round.

dumping out dough

Cover with plastic wrap and let the dough sit until your dutch oven is ready.

dough covered and resting

Once your dutch oven is ready, remove it from the oven with oven mitts (remember, it is HOT). Using floured hands, pick up your dough and plop it into the dutch oven.

dough in dutch oven

Now, put the top back on the dutch oven and place it back in the oven and bake for exactly 30 minutes.

After the 30 minutes, remove the top of the Dutch oven.

after 30 minutes of baking

after 30 minutes of baking

Place back in the oven for an additional 15 minutes. Once the 15 minutes are up, remove the Dutch oven from the oven and using oven mitts, remove the bread and place on a surface to cool.

after full baking time

after full baking time

You can check to make sure the bread is done by “thumping” the bottom of the bread and if it sounds hollow it is done – BUT, you won’t have to check because you can tell it is done by the super crispy crunchy crust and the amazing smell of this baked bread! Also fun, sometimes when you take the bread out you can actually hear it baking…it is really the air pockets bursting but it sounds so great and smells amazing!

homemade artisan bread

There. Done. Amazing!

sliced chewy crusty bread

Once you have played with this recipe a bit, then you can get really creative! I have made this same recipe but with little twists like adding parmesan cheese and herbs, or finely chopped sun-dried tomatoes and rosemary. You really can’t go wrong with this recipe so have fun playing!

This post shared on From the Farm Blog Hop

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

17 responses to “Easy Overnight Crusty Artisan Bread”

  1. Judy @ GrandparentsPlus2 says :

    I’m normally not a fan of anything that requires yeast, but this looks like something even I could try.:-)

  2. Eliza Waters says :

    Seems pretty simple and straightforward. I’ve always wondered how they achieve that amazing texture. Now I know thanks to you! 🙂

  3. Judy @ GrandparentsPlus2 says :

    I tried it – yeah!! It didn’t rise as much as yours. I don’t know if it was because it wasn’t warm enough. It tasted good. 🙂

    • vermontfarmheart says :

      Woohoo! Glad it tasted good! I find that my house isn’t quite warm enough for yeast to grow so I make sure the water is nice and warm and then I put it closer to our pellet stove to make sure it does okay. Not sure if that was the case or not, but I’m so happy you tried it!

  4. Beverly says :

    Wow, this looks so good I could eat a piece right now. I will try this since we like artisan bread a lot. You can’t get easier than that.
    Thanks for sharing,
    Bev

  5. Chrystal M. says :

    Oh my! That looks so tasty. I love making bread. Being Irish, I’ve been making soda bread for ages and I have finally got a great recipe where it’s lighter than traditional soda bread. Makes for good dunking, sandwiches and bread pudding. Stopping by from the farm link party.

  6. daisy says :

    This looks so simple, I’ve got to try it. Thank you for your instructions!

  7. lettersfromsunnybrook says :

    I make this nearly every day, just for myself. I am addicted! I get inflammation in my hands, so having a no-knead recipe is wonderful. http://lettersfromsunnybrook.com/burnt-bread-and-other-snafus/

  8. Kris - Sugar Cookies to Peterbilts says :

    I have been wanting to try one of these breads, and after reading your post I will be assembling this tonight, and baking tomorrow….. If I can find a warm place to let it rest over night… Seems like the whole house is chilled anymore.

    • vermontfarmheart says :

      I know, I have a hard time finding warm spots this time of year! If my oven isn’t on for some other cooking/baking project, then I usually place the bowl by our pellet stove for the night!

  9. Lauren Atchison says :

    have you tried making this a whole grain or whole wheat bread? we usually don’t eat too much in the way of white flour and was wondering how that might come out, looks delicious. i only have a big corning ware dish, would that work?

    • vermontfarmheart says :

      Hi! yes, I have used whole wheat flour and it comes out just as good, though very dense! I personally enjoyed it, almost a meal in itself (and I had to bake it for a bit less time) but the younger folks in the family thought it was “too nutty” but based on your preference, you might enjoy it! I have also make it half and half (half white and half whole wheat) and everyone seemed to enjoy that better.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Open Faced Mozzarella and Tomato Sandwiches | Vermont Farm Heart - August 21, 2014

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

