Rotisserie Chicken and Kale Soup

The weather is cold and that means it is time for soup at our house! Soup is one of those foods my family never seems to be Rotisserie chicken and kale soup with barleytired of. There are so many soup recipes and variations out there that I find I can turn almost anything in to a great bowl of soup. Add a slice of crusty bread and you have the perfect meal for cold weather.

I do like to roast my own chickens but on busy weeknights, a cheap rotisserie chicken from the store is pretty darn good. We do a good job eating most of the meat but I find that what is left is perfect for making soup. Once the breast meat, legs, and thighs are eaten, there is still a lot of little pieces of meat on those chickens.

I have made lots of soups out of chicken, but nothing beats my chicken and kale (with barley!) soup!

To start any chicken soup you can cook your own chicken or go the easy route and use a rotisserie chicken. Either way, what we usually wind up doing is having chicken one night and then the next night I pick off all the little pieces of meat we missed and use that to make soup.

Once you have picked off all the meat and put it into a soup pot, add two 16 ounce boxes of low sodium chicken broth and two cups of water.

meat and broth

Next add in the kale. I like to tear my pieces of kale so that they are “spoon size.” This is also the perfect recipe for adding dehydrated kale to. Fresh or dried, the kale is what makes this soup so delicious. It soaks up all the chicken broth and becomes smooth and silky after cooking.

adding kale

I always like to add some kind of rice, grain, or pasta to my soups to give them a hearty feel. My favorite is barley. In addition to its pasta-like texture, barley is actually good for you with its high level of fiber and low levels of cholesterol.  I usually add about a cup of dry barley to my pots of soup. It is enough to add substance without using up all of the liquid.

adding barley

Once you have all of your ingredients in the pot, set it on low-medium heat and let it slowly simmer for about an hour. Once the barley is cooked and the kale is soft, you are ready to eat. We love to eat this soup with a slice of crusty bread that we can dip into the broth.

cooking kale and chicken soup

bowl of chicken kale soup

This blog post was shared at: From the Farm Blog Hop

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Rotisserie Chicken and Kale Soup”

  1. Eliza Waters says :

    I’m salivating – looks so good – I can practically smell it! Yum! I love the way this soup is so quick and easy.

    • vermontfarmheart says :

      Thanks! It was quick to put together which is always a plus in our house….it also disappeared in almost as much time as it took to make it! We love kale and this is the best kale soup recipe I have found that is easy AND tasty!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Oven Roasted Pumpkin Soup | Vermont Farm Heart - January 9, 2014

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

