Sunflowers

I think sunflowers are among the happiest flowers. To me, they are always smiling. Or at least they always seem to make memy sunflower smile!

I have been smiling on my way to work for the last two weeks all thanks to a person that I do not know. There is a house I pass by each day and the whole front garden is all different sunflowers. It is beautiful and for me, a happy sight each morning and evening.

Their house gets full sun all day and they might have been planted earlier than mine because I have been watching each different variety bloom over the past two weeks with joy while waiting for mine to decide to open.

This past weekend I checked on them Saturday afternoon and they were still tightly curled closed. On Sunday afternoon I went out to grab a few tomatoes when I realized that something bright and yellow was “shining” from the garden. They had finally bloomed!

my sunflowers

These mood lifting flowers now smile at me from the back garden and after picking a few, I now have smiling flowers in my living room and on my desk at work. I firmly believe in what some people consider “wasting” vegetable garden space for some good old fashioned flowers that make me darn happy!

happy sunflower

Here is a great quote that I have always liked about sunflowers:

Flowers have an expression of countenance as much as men or animals.  Some seem to smile; some have a sad expression; some are pensive and diffident; others again are plain, honest and upright, like the broad-faced sunflower and the hollyhock.
~ Henry Ward Beecher
 
opening sunflower
 
Something I didn’t know – there is actually a National Sunflower Association which has some pretty neat ideas, a cute children’s coloring book you can download and lots of information on these sunny flowers!
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

