Coming Home to My Garden

It was lovely being on vacation but I was excited to come home and see how my garden was doing. The weeds had been happy totall squash plants see me go as they seemed to triple while I was gone! I went out this morning and weeded the vegetable beds which looked worse than they were which was a relief!

The cucumbers exploded and I picked six huge cucumbers and it looks like I’ll need to pick a bunch more in the next day or so. My sunflowers are almost ready to bloom and the kale and peppers are doing well.

cucumbers

My cucumber plants!

climbing cucumbers

Climbing cucumbers!

kale

The kale growing strong!

peppers

Baby peppers on their way!

My tomatoes and squash plants are taller than I have ever seen them! I don’t know if I bought extra tall plants or the weather is doing something weird with them! There are plenty of green tomatoes but nothing near turning red yet. The squash plants have tons of blossoms that are busy with bumblebees. I was able to pick two small yellow squash for a stir fry and it looks like by next week I’ll be up to my neck in yummy zucchini!

yellow squash

squash

swiss chard

Swiss chard is coming up nicely!

Lots of lovely green beans are growing which are perfect to snack on while weeding!

green beans

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

