Planting Season

 I went to a couple different local greenhouses on Saturday to purchase vegetables and other plants for my garden. Ipurchased plants love visiting knowledgable growers who not only help me plan out what I need for my garden, but what many uses each plant has. It is also nice when you learn new things!

I have always known about “companion” plants. Plants that are beneficial to each other when planted next to or nearby each other. Plants like tomatoes and basil enjoy each others company and the basil can help in keeping certain pests away from the tomatoes. Marigolds are one of those all-around great companion plants and deter lots of different pests. Planting marigolds all around your garden can help reduce the amount of “bad” bugs in your garden.

With the back of my car filled with plants for the garden, I was ready for a day of planting! Some of the plants purchased: tomatoes, banana peppers, four different squash varieties, snapdragons, basil, marigolds, Swiss chard, lemon thyme, and a few other neat ground cover perennials for the herb garden.

plants in car

Back of my car filled with all my locally purchased plants!

I started out to the garden around 8:30am and got almost all of the garden done before it turned dark and the rain came pouring down around 1:30pm.

garden beds planted

View of the garden. You can see the very last bed in the back still needs to be done. That will have winter squash planted in it eventually!

pepper plants

Pepper plants with sunflowers growing up behind them.

tomato bed

I still have the last raised bed to do and then we should be all set for the vegetable garden. I’ll just have to finish another day! The good news is that I didn’t have to water the garden and it is still raining out so all the new plants should be very happy!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

