Knitted Sheep

I love smaller knitting projects as I feel accomplished after such a short time as opposed to knitting a blanket – not sure I knitted sheephave the patience for that yet. Anyway, I just finished a second knitted stuffed sheep for my niece.

It is so darn cute, though even after tweaking the pattern and doing it a second time, I feel like its legs are too gangly. The body is also kind of long for a sheep, but as the yarn I used is super soft and kind of stretchy, the whole thing can be squished or stretched. I like this idea of a knitted stuffed animal for young kids as there are no eyeballs to swallow or small parts that come off – unless she does a lot of chewing. For little hands, it is the right size too!

The pattern that I saw which inspired me to knit the sheep was on the Ravelry website but came free from Faroe Knitting. It is easy to follow and easy enough to tweak or cover up mistakes unlike some patterns where you have to watch what you are doing. I like the ones I can mess up on and it not be a big deal!

knitted sheep pieces

All of my knitted sheep pieces before stuffing them and sewing them together.

I am completely addicted to the Ravelry website and have found almost all of my knitting patterns free from that site. I have done the cutest bunnies and chicks for Easter, ornaments for Christmas, and stuffed animals for my younger nieces. For any knitters or for people who crochet, this is a great place to find free inspiration!

Easter bunny and chick

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

