Frost, Hail and Flowers

Weather has been a little chancy here in Vermont lately. Last week we had one day up in the 80s and then two days later lilac up closeit plummeted down in the 30s. My poor garden doesn’t know what to do! We did cover our garden and a few of my special perennial plants for one night when we had a frost warning. We wound up not getting the frost that night. Next night it was supposed to be up in the 40s and of course that was the night we got frost. I think everything made it but I’m glad I have waited to put in my tomato and pepper plants.

On Monday of this week we had a hail storm – not much of one but it did happen. Yesterday was one heck of a windy day but the temperature was perfect. All this yo-yoing with warm weather, frost, hail, and then high heat has my flowers opening at odd times.

I have a lot of irises in my garden as they are one of my favorite flowers. Most of them don’t event have the flower stalk up yet but then there is one lone yellow iris plant that popped open yesterday!

open yellow iris

Our lilacs are all blooming at once and the smell is heavenly when you are sitting on the front porch!

lilac view from porch

dark purple lilac

I love the dark purple lilacs the best!

lilacs and moon

If you look close, you can just see the moon right at the bottom lilac tip.

Not sure what these little blue flowers are…they may be a type of bell flower or forget-me-not but I can’t remember. I am terrible at plant names except for the most obvious. If anyone knows this one, please leave a comment!

blue bell flowers

Love this light blue – almost purple creeping phlox! They grow out of and sort of hang over the rail-road ties around my garden.

creeping phlox

One of my top favorites – the bleeding heart! These are so delicate looking but watch out, they spread!

bleeding heart

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

