Lovage – Love It or Hate It?

my lovage plant

My lovage plant

Okay blog readers – do any of you have a lovage plant and if you do, what do you do with it?

I have this beautiful HUGE (it is just coming up now but it gets big)  lovage plant that was given to my mother by her aunt (now deceased) which when we moved, I dug up and have planted in my backyard. It has basically been in the family for 30+ years.

I have heard that you can eat it. It kind of smells like celery to me, or a little like licorice.

So, do any of you have recipes or tips on what to do with this lovely perennial? I have always felt like I should be able to use it…

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “Lovage – Love It or Hate It?”

  1. divedaddy03 says :

    I’ve heard that lovage tea can be used on wounds as an antiseptic…I don’t have any first hand experience with the plant but that’s what I’ve heard.

    • vermontfarmheart says :

      Yum! I love the recipe for the broad beans and lovage! I had no idea it could be used in so many ways – either as the main dish, or as a garnish. Thanks so much for sharing!

  2. Judy @ GrandparentsPlus2 says :

    Well you taught me something new today. I’d never heard of that plant so had the opportunity to look it up and read about. Interesting to say the least.

    • vermontfarmheart says :

      As I mentioned in the post, I have had this plant forever but didn’t know I could actually use it! It grows really easily but will take over a spot if you don’t split it every few years. Right now it is in an area where it can take over as much as it wants so it seems pretty happy!

  3. Spy Garden says :

    Lovage it! I have grown parsnips for a few years and they keep coming back and maybe they are Lovage? They seem VERY similar. I think you could prepare the roots as you would parsnips?

    • vermontfarmheart says :

      Really!? I had not heard of that before but you are right, they do look a lot alike. I love parsnips, so I might just try using the lovage that way in a soup or stew! Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

