Playing in the Dirt

I took a day off this week (Monday) and got dirty. I have been waiting and waiting to be able to play out in my garden but weedingwith all this weird hot and cold weather we have been getting, I wanted to make sure I was safe from frost before I planted anything. I tossed a coin, looked at the big beautiful sun shining down on Monday afternoon, and decided to go for it! We drove over to our local Tractor Supply store and picked up some nice topsoil and compost along with a few seed packets. Okay, I bought more than a few seed packets! There were just so many beautiful seeds to choose from! I controlled myself from buying one of everything and only purchased carrot, parsnip, beet, kale, spinach, and snow pea seeds.

raised garden bed

Here is the “before” picture!

Once home we unloaded the bags of topsoil and gathered the shovels, gloves, rake and hoe. Preparing the garden beds was much easier compared to last year. We had kept on top of weeding and had taken care to do some prep work late in the fall so that there would be less weeding to do in the early spring. We loosened the soil with the rake and hoe and pulled the weeds out by hand. Once all the weeds were out we added the topsoil and compost and mixed it all together with the shovels.

adding soil

Looking in the shed I found a fan shaped trellis that is perfect for the peas to climb. In the first bed we planted the peas and then did rows of spinach and kale. Beets, carrots and parsnips went into the next bed. The third bed we will save for peppers and tomatoes while the fourth bed can be for the Swiss chard and cabbages. The last two beds we haven’t decided on yet but will most likely hold the winter squash and zucchini.

planting seeds

Our cat was trying to be “helpful” as I dug rows and planted seeds. She would stay around the edge of the raised bed but then as soon as I wasn’t looking she would hop in the dirt and paw at my nice neat lines!

the cat walking the bed

We have a few more beds to turn over and prepare for planting but for now I am happy to have played in the dirt for a day. After all, to plant a garden is to believe in tomorrow, and I sure am believing that my seeds will be popping up soon!

watering the seeds

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Playing in the Dirt”

  1. finnhoward says :

    It’s a complete culture difference to read about someone driving over to their local tractor supply store! Nothing like spending a day in the garden tog et ready for spring!

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

