You Look Fine…

I’d like to make an observation here…men do not seem to understand what the word “fine” means to a woman. When asking a guy how you look, the last thing most women want to hear is “you look fine.”

Fine is a word that is used by mechanics such as “don’t worry, those rust spots are fine.” Fine is a word mom’s use when kids fall down as in “you’ll be fine, get back up.” Fine is also a term of exasperation, usually used during a disagreement, “fine, I’ll do it Friday”, or “fine, I’m sorry, you were right” (which if said by a woman usually doesn’t mean what is said), and then of course there is “FINE” the most scary way you can use the word. This last method is more of an ultimatum than a declaration that everything will work out. Most often, this use puts fear into children and husbands…if they are smart enough to figure it out.

Now I realize that according to our old English and the dictionary the word “fine” actually means something to be of superior quality. For example, a fine wine, a fine day, fine china, or something to be satisfactory and acceptable.

The problem with this word is that it has lost its lusterย and become a word to indicate something that is average.

So with all the ways to utilize that four letter word today, “fine” is seemingly wrongly used by so many men.

Not to worry, I am not mad at anyone. This particular Thursday is going quite well. I suppose when this term is used towards my appearance the word “fine” is meant as in fine wine, so I will in future try hard not to immediately berate him with the barrage of “what do you mean I look fine” and accept that it is a good standard to go by.

I had to catch myself as I was just struck by the use of the word this morning after I had taken great pains (like most mornings) to make sure my work clothes looked appropriate, cute, things matched, and fit well. When I asked how I looked, I received the proverbial “you look fine.”

Well thank you.

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “You Look Fine…”

  1. finnhoward says :

    I know what you mean – it’s better than “you look okay.” ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Judy@grandparentsplus2 says :

    I think of the word “fine” when I think back to when I’d ask my daughter how her day was at school because that was my one word answer. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. pfstare says :

    Oh so true. ‘You look fine’ makes me what to go and get changed. PS I’m English and the start of your marmalade post made me laugh ๐Ÿ™‚ I wonder what you think of marmite – that’s a whole ‘nother British institution.

    • vermontfarmheart says :

      ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for reading both! I was wondering what my European friends would think of that post! Marmite is something I have always wanted to try as I hear such different opinions about it. Do you eat and/or make marmalade?

      • pfstare says :

        Marmite have built a whole campaign over the ‘love/hate’ thing. I like marmalade but I’m mainly a savoury person so don’t eat it very often. My mum used to make it all the time.

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

