Self-Sufficiency – Homemade Knitted Sunglasses Case

So I was getting my travel bag together and saw my sunglasses at the bottom of the bag and thought to myself, I need a sunglasses cassunglasses case so they don’t get scratched. I had this idea mulling around in my head for the day.

I mentioned this out loud and it was suggested that the general store in town would have one. Apparently I gave that particular person a blank stare. Why would I buy one? I can make one?

Before I really realized what was happening I had pulled out my knitting needles and some nice soft yarn I had been saving and sat down to knit. I didn’t have a pattern, just an idea of what I needed. A few hours later (I tend to be a slow knitter) I sewed up the sides, attached a button, and slid my sunglasses inside before tucking it into my bag.

putting it to good use

My significant other gave me an odd look. “What” I asked. “So, you just made that?”….Well duh. That is what we homesteaders, homemakers, thrifty, crafty, awesome people do! But you know, it took a minute to sink in. That is exactly what I did. I needed something, thought about, figured out how to make it, and did it.

all set

I know I do this stuff all the time, but I had to pause in my busy day and soak up the feeling. It felt pretty darn good to make my new sunglasses case, no matter how simple it is. I know I’m tooting my own horn here, but I wanted to express how this way of life is so awesome and fulfilling. Corny, maybe. Self-sufficient, yes.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Self-Sufficiency – Homemade Knitted Sunglasses Case”

  1. neecie says :

    what was your pattern for sunglass case?

    • vermontfarmheart says :

      Hi! Actually I didn’t use a pattern at all. Just knitted a square (using the sunglasses as a size guide) and then folded it in half and stitched together! Hope that helps! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

