Corn Bread Cracker Crusted Pork Cutlets

Corn bread cracker crusted pork cutlets, say that three times fast! Besides chicken, pork is one of my favorite meats. It is cornbread crusted pork cutletso versatile and the smell of cooking pork drives me wild!

We cook a lot of pork in our house and I enjoy finding unique twists in cooking the pork in our usual ways. We like a good breaded baked pork cutlet, so I decided to mix it up a little when it came to the crust or breading.

Instead of using panko or regular bread crumbs, I had a box of Milton’s corn bread crackers which are a bit sweeter than bread or regular crackers. Using a ziplock bag, I poured a bunch of crackers in and crunched them up into a mix of fine and chunky crumbs until I had about a cup worth.

I had left over egg whites from my banana cream pie recipe so I saved those and used them in the egg wash. For the wash I whisked together a teaspoon of yellow mustard (for a little extra flavor), a tablespoon of water, and the three egg whites. I poured each into a paper plate and then coated my baking dish with non-stick cooking spray.

my wet mix and dry mix

Taking my pork cutlets, I dried them off with a paper towel. This helps the egg wash to stick to the meat.

drying the pork cutlet

Then dredged them in the egg and mustard wash.

egg and mustard wash

Then pressed the cracker crumbs onto the cutlet.

cracker crumb crust

Once coated, I put the cutlets in my baking dish, giving each of them a little room so they are not touching.

ready for the oven

I baked them in the oven at 350°F for 25-35 minutes or until cooked through and no longer pink in the middle.

baked cutlets

look at that crunch

These are great served alongside homemade applesauce and maple glazed brussel sprouts!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

