Oven Roasted Sweet and Savory Maple Glazed Brussel Sprouts

It seems like a lot of people turn up their noses at this awesome vegetable. My family in particular. I admit, I used to hate roasted brussel sproutsthese mini cabbages myself. That is until I knew how to cook them.

My sister in-law is a fabulous cook. She is one of those cooks who seem to throw things into a pot and then be able to serve amazing dishes that she doesn’t even have a name for. It was at her house last year that I discovered how darn taste these brussel sprouts could really be.

Now, I can’t get enough of them. I even attempted to grow them in my garden last summer and had terrible results. Her plants of course were beautiful and produced pounds upon pounds of brussel sprouts while mine tipped over or produced little tiny nubs of sprouts and then turned yellow and died. Not sure what I did wrong. When I asked her how she grew her plants, her answer like many things she does, was a shrug and a “I just planted them.” Very frustrating.

chickens eating sprouts

Here are my chickens eating my sad brussel sprout plants. At least they got to enjoy them!

Anyway, by watching her serve the brussel sprouts at several dinners, I was able to figure out what she did to make them so delicious. I tinkered with the idea/recipe a bit and have come up with this oh-so-simple-why-couldn’t-I-figure-this-out-before recipe. I make them all the time now to the chagrin of my family who tell me that the whole house smells like farts when they roast in the oven. Well, too bad. I think they taste great and if no one wants to share, more for me!

3-4 tablespoons of olive oil

1/4 – 1/2 cup of maple syrup

1 teaspoon of crushed dried rosemary

generous salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

Note: For a nice long slow cooking recipe you can bake the raw brussel sprouts in the oven but they may take up to an hour to roast. What I usually do on the weeknights so I can actually enjoy dinner before 9pm is steam the brussel sprouts either in a pot of water on the stove or in the microwave until they are almost fork tender. This way they roast faster and I can make sure they are cooked.

First, clean and trim the hard end of your brussel sprouts and slice in half. If you are steaming them first, leave them whole and then cut them in half once they are almost fork tender. Then in a baking sheet spread the oil and maple syrup around to coat the bottom.

Put the brussel sprout halves in the pan and shake or move them around with a rubber spatula to coat them with the olive oil and maple syrup. Then I like to make sure they are all laying cut side down in the pan for optimal caramelization. Sprinkle the brussel sprouts with the rosemary, salt and pepper.

coating the brussel sprouts

Place in a pre-heated 350°F oven for 15-20 minutes. Stir after they have begun to turn golden brown so they do not burn. If you are oven roasting the brussel sprouts raw and did not steam them first, you may need to bake them for up to an hour until they are fork tender and crispy golden brown around the edges.

As another side note, my sister in-law sometimes sprinkles crispy crumbled bacon pieces on top of the brussel sprouts just before serving and she has even baked them in bacon grease when she has extra in her fridge. I have not done this myself yet, but it tastes fantastic and so I’ll have to try that soon!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Oven Roasted Sweet and Savory Maple Glazed Brussel Sprouts”

  1. finnhoward says :

    I actually love brussel sprouts! These look delicious!

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

