Jump Start on Spring – Indoor Kitchen Herb Garden

Planted herbs

Well, I couldn’t stand it anymore. I keep seeing snow, then brown grass, then snow! I keep staring out my kitchen window where my round perennial  garden is dreaming of when I can go dig in the dirt. I needed a touch of spring the other day, so I decided to get a jump on my herb garden. I found seeds that I had kept from last year – some from my own garden and some from a seed company.

My herb seeds

I love working with fresh herbs and am always surprised by what you can do with them. My list keeps growing in recipes that a bunch of fresh herbs can be added to for extra flavor! Whether you are making a salad, homemade meatloaf, stuffing a whole chicken, or rubbing some herbs on a steak for the grill, you can never seem to have enough on hand in the winter.

Have you also noticed how expensive fresh herbs can be in the store? Think about it. You aren’t buying rosemary and thyme by the pound…you are buying it by the ounce. That means when you purchase herbs individually every time you need them, that little container or bundle of herbs can add up pretty quick. Buying herbs isn’t cheap. So why buy them when they are so easy to grow?

Planting the little seeds

Keep an indoor garden of basil, parsley, or any herb you like in a container or small pots on your kitchen counter for year round use.

Here are my herbs only a few days later! Can’t wait to start using them!

Starting to grow

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Jump Start on Spring – Indoor Kitchen Herb Garden”

  1. Judy@grandparentsplus2 says :

    It is really tough this time of year to fight the urge to start seeds. UNH has their greenhouse open house the middle of March and the urge to buy is unbelievable. But after several years of dead or leggy plants by May, I’ve gotten over it. The one thing that keeps us going is that we will be busy for a while with Maple sap. And, then we’ll get back to the longing for seeds. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

