A Book Series for Farmers (or anyone who loves animals)

I just finished reading the heart warming series written by James Herriot (the pen name of James Alfred Wright) who was

Book photo

Photo from Amazon.com

a British veterinarian in the 1940s up in the North Yorkshire countryside. He worked as a veterinary surgeon in the farming community and wrote this series of books about his adventures.

I grew up watching the British television show All Creatures Great and Small that is based off of these books and always found them humbling and fascinating to watch. For a while, I wanted to be a vet myself, perhaps due to this series that I would watch each week-night. Growing up on a farm was enough for me though.

These books made me laugh, cry, smile, and most importantly, feel good about being a farmer. His writing is so comforting that I will most likely read these books over and over again! It was especially nice to curl up by the fireplace with these books under a big wool blanket with a dog at your feet. If you have a chance, do read this series!

The books go in the following order, though I suppose you could read them out of order and still know what is going on as while you are following his life, most of the chapters are about one animal or experience: All Creatures Great and Small, All Things Bright and Beautiful, All Things Wise and Wonderful, The Lord God Made Them All, and Every Living Thing. Even the titles sound wonderful! He also wrote a few story collection books, one specifically full of his cat stories and one of his dog stories. I have not read any of his children’s books, but with the quality of writing in the original series, I would imagine that they would be great for kids.

Oh, and apparently you can visit the “World of James Herriot” as I found out looking him up. Next time I am over in England, I will have to check this out!

alf_wright

Photo of the “real” James Herriot – photo from jamesherriot.org

I just wanted to share a good book with you all! I’m looking for my next bedside read, so if you know of any that may be similar to this series, please let me know!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

