Polish Sausage and Potato Cream Soup

Soup should be a food group all on its own. I have always loved soup. My dad tells me the story of when I was barely oldSausage Potato Soup enough to eat solid foods and was fussing so much in a restaurant that they ordered me a bowl of cream of mushroom soup – the only thing on the menu that seemed appropriate for a child – just to shut me up. To the surprise of the waitress, I then quietly ate the entire bowl. I’m not sure if my parents already knew that I loved soup or not, but the way he always tells the story makes it sound like it was a surprise to everyone.

Since that moment, I could in fact eat soup every day of the year and not get tired of it. Almost anytime I go to a restaurant I order soup to start. Even in the summer.

I also have a passion for making soup at home. Nothing beats a bowl of homemade soup accompanied by homemade bread or a good salad. If I have soup left over, I have been known to have a bowl for breakfast the next morning.

For this soup, I combine the smokiness of the Polish sausage (kielbasa) with hearty potatoes and a creamy base to create a soup perfect for the cold snowy weather we are having here in Vermont.

2 tablespoons of butter

1/2 teaspoon of minced garlic

3 cups of skim milk

1 cup of heavy cream

3 tablespoons of flour

1 cup of whole kernel corn

1 pound of cooked Polish sausage cut into 1/4 inch slices

3 cups (about four medium) of potatoes cut into 1/2 inch cubes with skin on

1 teaspoon of fresh ground black pepper

In a large pot, melt the butter and then add the minced garlic cooking the garlic for only a minute or so or until the aroma is released but not too long so it burns.

Melted butter and garlic

Turn the heat down to low and stir in the flour and cook for 1 minute.

Adding flour to the butter

Slowly add the milk and cream, potatoes, corn and ground pepper. Simmer over medium heat for about 20 minutes or until the potatoes are fork tender.

Adding the milk and cream

Veggies and pepper

Stir in the sausage and cook for an additional 5 minutes or until the sausage has warmed.

Adding the Polish sausage

Serve hot with a side salad or toasted garlic bread.

Soup is ready!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

