Happy New Year!

I think Meg Ryan (playing Sally) said it best when she told Billy Crystal (Harry) that the song Auld Lang Syne is about oldHappy New Year! friends (When Harry Met Sally 1989). When the clock strikes midnight and it becomes the New Year and that song is played, I think that is what people should be thinking about. Old friends. Why? Because when you think of old friends, during the good times and the bad, you ultimately think of happiness. Old friends can mean so many things to different people.

For me, it means thinking of all the things in the last year and the people – friends, family, and strangers – who were a part of my life. Superstorm Sandy and what happened in New Jersey brought my family and neighbors closer together. I have made new friends at work. I have re-established connections with old friends. Our garden was expanded and better managed than in past years. I started a blog – which has been eye-opening and tons of fun for me to work on. We hosted Christmas at our home for the first time and it was fantastic. We had a death in the family. We had the news of new life in our family. My dog got hurt and then got better, something we didn’t expect. Through everything, there were “old friends” and life has been good. It has been a good year, no, a great year and I am thankful for all that has happened.

Now I as I sit here with my mug full of herbal tea (watching another Meg Ryan film, Sleepless in Seattle) I am looking forward to the New Year and what it may bring. I don’t like making resolutions as like anyone else, I usually break them during the first week. Instead, I hope to make lifestyle changes, things that will stick. Things that coincide with how our lives naturally are. More fruits and veggies, get outside more, take chances, make mistakes, be more flexible, and love unconditionally.

So, here is to your New Year and to old friends,

Happy New Year!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

