Vermont Sweet Potato Casserole with Pecan Topping

This was a great year for growing sweet potatoes in Vermont. We had a great crop and they were large and super sweet.Sweet potatoes from my garden When cooked, they almost didn’t need any butter on them!

My sweet potato casseroleOne of my favorite side dishes is sweet potato casserole. Now I know some people like the kind with the marshmallows, but I can’t stand all that sugary, fake sweetness. I have never been a fan of things overly sweet and I am not that into marshmallows unless they are in my s’more. I love the taste of sweet potatoes and that is what I want to savor when eating sweet potato casserole.

6 cups of cooked, mashed sweet potatoes

1/2 cup of heavy cream

2 eggs

3 tablespoons of butter

1/4 cup of sugar

Topping:

1/2 cup of flour

4 tablespoons of butter, melted

1/2 cup of packed dark brown sugar

1/2 cup of chopped pecans

Begin by peeling and cooking your sweet potatoes.

Peeling and cutting my sweet potatoes

I like to cut mine into similar sized chunks and boil in water until tender.

Cut sweet potatoes

Once cooked, mash with a potato masher. Add your eggs, butter and cream and continue to mash together until most of the large chunks are gone. I like mine with a little texture so I only use the potato masher and not my blender.

Sweet potato mixture

Spread the potato mixture in either a 9×9 baking dish or a casserole dish.

Sweet potatoes spread in the baking dish

In the meantime, melt your 4 tablespoons of butter in a small bowl. Add the flour, brown sugar and pecans and mix until crumbly.

Pecan topping

Sprinkle over the sweet potatoes and then bake at 350F for 20-25 minutes or until the crumbly topping has lightly browned.

My sweet potato casserole

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

