Honey Lemon Tea – A Soothing Sore Throat Remedy

I love the flavor combination of honey and lemon. The sweet and sour blast of warmth in my mouth makes me feel at Lemon and honey in my jarhome no matter where I am. This recipe is simple, satisfying and can sooth a sore throat.

I cannot claim to creating this recipe, but have taken the recipes and advice of other natural food enthusiasts in the simple way to make this tea/syrup.

Honey is a natural first aid kit all in itself. It is a natural antibiotic, antioxidant, and has throat-coating properties that help with colds (Fruitless Fall, 2008). Honey is a natural Cut lemonsliving food and so much is being discovered about its healing properties that our great, great, great, ancestors probably knew.

Keeping all of that in mind, this “tea” or syrup is a nice preventative as well as soother for what might ail you internally whether it is a common cold or inflammatory bowel disease. The effective probiotics help boost the good bacteria in your system keeping your body healthy and strong.

Use a nice clear glass jar. Canning jars work well or anything that has a good seal so that you don’t get sticky honey everywhere. Cut up a lemon or two and put into the jar. Lemons go in first

Then fill the rest of the jar with raw honey. The lemon and honey act as co-preservatives keeping each other fresh while breaking down in perfect harmony. Often you will see that the lemon pieces dissolve into the honey. Keep in the back of your refrigerator. Whenever you are in need of a hot cup of honey and lemon, simply spoon a good heaping tablespoon or two into a mug. Refill your jar with lemons and honey as needed. I have found that sometimes the honey sinks to the bottom and some lemon juice floats on top so you may need to stir your jar a bit. Pour hot water (almost boiling) over the mixture, stir, sip, and enjoy.

Adding local raw honey to the lemons

Adding local raw honey to the lemons!

This post shared on From the Farm Blog Hop

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “Honey Lemon Tea – A Soothing Sore Throat Remedy”

  1. vermontfarmheart says :

    Reblogged this on Vermont Farm Heart and commented:

    Everyone at work is coughing or out with the flu…so far (knock on wood) I have kept it all at bay. I have been enjoying my honey lemon tea each night before bed and feel strongly that it has been helping me stay well. I recently read that adding a little ginger root to the mixture and then topping of your mug of tea with a sprinkle of ground cinnamon can pack even more power in the fight against colds!

  2. Lindsey Walker says :

    I swear by lemon and honey tea when I’m sick…even more to kick it up a notch is to add a little rum…like a tablespoon and it helps with coughing and helps you sleep! I usually use Caption Morgan..but I would think any Rum would do!

    • vermontfarmheart says :

      My grandmother used a shot of rum in her tea when she had a cold. She also said it would help with the coughing and get her to sleep deeper. Of course, she also claimed that a shot of whiskey in her coffee every morning would help keep the doctor away. Seeing that she lived to be 91, maybe there is some truth to it all! Thanks for reading and commenting!

  3. jackie says :

    Good morning from Ukraine where it is a positivrly balmy -8C. Thank you for this latest offering, it is much appreciated. Just one query although I suspect I know the answer already! Is it better to use thick honey or a more liquid honey ( for better combing with the lemon) I ask, because in the photo it looks as if honey is beoing poured from a bottle. Thanks, Jackie

    • vermontfarmheart says :

      Good morning! I like using the thicker kind – but either will work. I buy my honey from a local apiary, who bottles it in a squeeze bottle, but it is thick and you have to squeeze/stand there forever! If you can find local raw honey in a jar that you can scoop, it would probably be much easier! Just make sure it is raw honey – honey that has not been heated – so there are still the good bacteria and enzymes in it. Thanks for reading and commenting!

      • jackie says :

        Hello yet again! thank you for your email. I must be a bit dim-witted (as my husband is always telling me!) but I would like to ask…how long will it be before this marvellous concoction is ready to use? Thanks once again.

      • vermontfarmheart says :

        Not at all a dim-witted question! After I put the jar in the fridge, it will take about two days before you will notice that the honey has sunk to the bottom and there is a clear layer (the lemon juice) on the top. At this point you can give it a stir and use it for your hot tea. After a few more days in the fridge, the honey may start turning white and become more of a solid….this is just the honey and lemon working together so it is supposed to look like that. Once your jar gets a little low or the lemons start drying (that is the best way to describe it…they kind of shrivel up) you can add more lemons and honey. As you keep adding, more of each and stirring, your mixture becomes more intense in flavor. Once the older lemons have sort of “had it” I scoop up a few and use them in the hot tea for extra flavor and to make room for fresh lemon chunks! Actually, I find that quartering the lemons is much better than slicing them! Right now I have three jars of the honey and lemon mixture going in my fridge as we all drink so much of it…that way one jar has new lemons and honey while we are working off the other jars…and so on…and I have not washed out any of them – I just keep them going – and the oldest jar is going on seven months now! Feel free to ask more questions as I love to share what I have learned! Oh and for a bonus flavor and cold fighting ingredient – sprinkle a little ground cinnamon in your mug with the honey and lemon mixture before adding the hot water – it may clump a bit so stir well.

      • Jill Moncilovich, PhD says :

        Good that you are promoting the raw honey and why raw is best. We usually use this recipe with water that is just a little bit warmer than body temperature [normal body temp not fevered body temp] so we will NOT kill off any of the good bacteria and enzymes in it for our healthy drink. Honey should never be heated more than 108 degree F to maintain raw and healthy status Another reason the honey/lemon gets thicker is if and when the honey begins to crystallize. Won’t hurt anything to use it! We are beekeepers and love our product.

      • vermontfarmheart says :

        Hello! Thanks for posting your comments! We love raw honey and it sure can do amazing things for your health! Good reminder about not heating it past 108F in order to keep it raw!

  4. jackie says :

    Many thanks for your helpful insights, they are much appreciated

    • Desiree says :

      So this really works? I’ve tried everything I can to sooth this poor throat of mine & nothings working”/ I’ve even tried honey lemons cough drops & those don’t work at all it seems! Does adding a little cinnamon make an even bigger difference?

      • vermontfarmheart says :

        I would not say by any means that this is a miracle cure – in my mind it is more preventative…but honey does have antibacterial fighting qualities and the more I read about it the more it seems like it could help. Cinnamon has some great antioxidants so I think it adds to the powerhouse of sore throat help!

  5. Desiree says :

    also…can it be used as soon as you put the concoction together or you have to wait? thank you

    • vermontfarmheart says :

      I believe it is better once it has had time to sit and become its own mixture, but I have also put all three ingredients in a mug and that seems to sooth my throat just as well. It will be a much more “honey” tasting product instead of a mellow mixture once they sit and stew together for a few days.

  6. Crystelle Boutique says :

    Oh my! I think this lemon/honey recipe would be terrific for a scratchy throat!!
    Thanks so much for sharing.… 🙂
    Have a happy weekend; hugs x, Crystelle
    Crystelle Boutique

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

