For the Love of Pumpkins

Fall is one of my favorite times of year. I love the crunch of fallen leaves under foot, the smell of the wet earth, and mulled cider. I also love everything that is pumpkin. Pumpkin pie, pumpkin bread, pumpkin scones, pumpkin butter, and One of our pumpkinspumpkin filled casseroles. There are so many options for this versatile fruit and it’s nice to know that it’s healthy for you too! Low in calories, pumpkin is a great source of vitamin A and fiber, and is an iron and calcium rich food.

One of my fondest memories from childhood is pumpkin picking each fall. My parents would plant a few pumpkins each year in the garden and I would impatiently wait for the day they would turn bright orange. That always seemed like the Our pumpkin patchbest day of my life. I always felt that they would turn orange as slowly as possible just to spite me. The day the pumpkins could be picked was always a big deal at our house. Most of my memories of those days involved sweatshirts and jeans with my mom and dad holding warm cups of coffee while I spent at least an hour picking out “my” pumpkin. Ultimately they would all be picked and put on our front porch, but only one would be all mine, and it had to perfect. I would study each pumpkin, turning it over to study its size, shape, and color. Once I selected the perfect pumpkin my mom would write my name on the bottom. I remember assuring her that I would know which one it was, after all, I picked it out, but it was probably a smart idea on her part.

Pumpkin carving still holds a special place in my heart. As an adult, I think I have just as much fun as when I was a kid. Possibly more. I still enjoy carving my pumpkin each fall but I have learned to love cooking with my pumpkins even Pumpkin pickingmore. Some of our pumpkins are still turning orange, but we were able to pick a few so far.

I look forward to sharing many fall pumpkin recipes with you soon. Until then, I leave you with two of my favorite pumpkin quotes:

“I would rather sit on a pumpkin, and have it all to myself, than be crowded on a velvet cushion.”

~ Henry David Thoreau (1817-1862)

Our cat in the pumpkin patch

Our cat in the pumpkin patch

“Vegetables are a must on a diet. I suggest carrot cake, zucchini bread, and pumpkin pie.”

~ Jim Davis (1915-1981)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “For the Love of Pumpkins”

  1. afrenchgarden says :

    I have pumpkin envy! Mine were an utter failure this year. Luckily I have neighbours that did better and will take pity on me.

  2. doorcountytraveler says :

    Love the pictures and the story. Thanks for sharing! Fall is my favorite season. =)

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

