Goose Music

The geese have begun their fall journey. This is my favorite time of year where a sweater and scarf, crunching leaves, and fields of pumpkins make me smile each day. Every fall I am reminded of a passage in Aldo Leopold’s A Sand County Almanac as the geese fly overhead. Leopold describes the “goose music” as the entertainment and thought provoking mindfulness that the geese inspire.Geese

“One flock perhaps has thrilled a score of schoolboys, and sent them scurrying home with tales of high adventure. Another, passing overhead of a dark night, has serenaded a whole city with goose music, and awakened who knows what questions and memories and hope. A third perhaps has given pause to some farmer at his plow, and brought new thoughts of far lands and journey-ings and peoples, where before was only drudgery, barren of any thought at all (229).”

What questions and memories and hope do these geese inspire in my own life?

The geese signal a change in season. They remind me that I am here and let me know that I can take a moment to look up into the sky and watch nature fly by. They let me know that summer is at an end and that I can soon look forward to the warmth of our wood stoves this winter. They allow me to dream of planting my garden in the spring. Ultimately, they ground me in an ever changing world, allowing me to feel safe and secure in knowing that each fall there will be goose music.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

