Rosemary No-Yeast Naan Bread

So last night we all felt like some comfort food and something warm. Soup and homemade bread sounded perfect. I opened my fridge to discover that I had run out of yeast and having forgotten, never replenished my supply while I was at the co-op the other day. I don’t know about any one else, but once I have a meal in my head, I want that food. Nothing else seems to suffice. Having no yeast, I perused my recipe box. My eye glanced over our barbeque pulled pork recipe when I remembered that when we made that the last time, we served naan bread with the pork. Perfect! Naan bread is an easy bread to make that can be made with or without yeast.Pan cooking naan bread

I went back to my fridge and also realized we were out of yogurt (traditionally used in naan recipes). Sour cream stared me in the face and I thought why not. Turns out, sour cream is an excellent substitute for yogurt in naan and gives it a little zip which counters the sweetness of the sugar. I love herbs and figured some ground dried rosemary would go nicely with the chicken soup we would be eating along with the bread.

Recipe

2 cups of flour

¼ teaspoon of baking soda

1 tablespoon of ground dried rosemary (I like to grind my own)

Three tablespoons of sour cream

1 ½ tablespoons of sugar

Water as needed

Note: You can double, triple or quadruple this recipe and it will turn out great. Based upon the amount of flour you use you can estimate how many pieces of naan bread you will be making. Roughly for every 2 cups of flour you will make 8 pieces, depending upon how large or small you want them to be.

Naan ingredients

Add all the ingredients except water into a medium size bowl. Mix until dough starts to form into a ball. Add water if the mixture is too dry. If you add too much water, you can always add a little more flour to even it out. Once a nice elastic, but not sticky ball of dough forms, leave in the bowl and cover with a dish towel for 20 minutes or so to let it rest.

Naan dough resting

Spray a frying pan with non-stick cooking spray and set on medium to low heat. On a floured surface, cut the dough into about 8 pieces. Roll out each piece thin, about 1/8 to 1/4 inches thick. I have found that the thinner the dough is the better.

Cut naan dough

Rolling out naan dough

Once your pan is hot, take one piece of rolled dough, shake off any excess flour, and place into your pan. You will want to keep moving the dough around with either your hand or a spatula so that it doesn’t burn. You will see the dough bubble up and after cooking it for about 1–2 minutes, flip over and cook that side for an additional 1–2 minutes. You may need to spray the pan each time you flip to prevent the bread from burning.

Naan bubbling in the pan

Serve warm and enjoy.

This recipe will make chewy, sweet bread that goes great with just about anything. It is a soft yet sturdy bread that is great for scooping up chili and stews, or wrapping around pulled pork or veggie stir fry. I happen to enjoy them plain but they are also good with butter or dipped in olive oil. The rosemary in these was terrific, but you can add any herb you like or even minced garlic. It is such an easy and quick thing to make that you will be making them more than you think once you try it!

My homemade naan

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Rosemary No-Yeast Naan Bread”

  1. Tammy says :

    I was so excited to find a naan recipe with sour cream as I too had ran out of yogurt, (just used it all in my chicken tikka masala marinade). I’m trying this today, using my cast iron skillet, gives a nice char. I love the garlic and butter naan, and also like having leftovers that I later use as a substitute tortilla for quesadillas. Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

