Waste Not your Hotdog Rolls

I have discovered a new calling for the unpretentious store bought hotdog roll.Cooked Croutons

 A friend had a barbeque a few weeks ago and told me that he felt bad because he had three bags of hotdog rolls that were just going stale. “How bad are they?” I asked. Turns out, they were going crusty, but not bad enough to throw to my chickens, which was what I had told him I would do.

He was happy to unload them and I figured my chickens would be as equally happy for a snack. Looking at the rolls, I felt that two of the three bags were too good for my chickens. One bag had been opened, and the rolls had begun to grow little white spots, so my chickens did end up with a snack that day. The other two bags became destined for my salad. I had made croutons before, but not with hotdog rolls. Why ever not, I do not know. I have tossed stale hotdog and hamburger buns to my chickens for years and never realized the possibilities until now. What made me think of it was all the ripe cherry tomatoes in my garden and the idea of a salad with dinner that night. I love crunchy toppings on my salads and was thinking that I would have to go to the store for something. Standing in my driveway with the bags of rolls I thought why not make these into croutons? I always have such a hard time finding ones I like in the store and they cost a small fortune.

Once in the kitchen I grabbed my container of rosemary that I had dried from my garden last summer. I ground that up along with some dried oregano and mixed it together with a ¼ cup of olive oil in a large bowl.

Olive oil and herbs

Next, I cubed the hotdog rolls.

Cubed hotdog rolls

Once all the bread was cut, I lightly tossed it in with the olive oil mixture.

Bread cubes tossed with oil mixture

With the oven at 350°, I baked the croutons for about an hour, stirring every 15 minutes. When they where a light golden brown color and crunchy all the way through I removed them from the oven and let them air-dry for an hour. Light as air, crunchy, and flavored with herbs from my garden, they were undoubtedly the best croutons I had ever eaten. Store bought ones, even the organic kind, just won’t taste the same. Now I just have to wait until our next barbecue and make sure I buy extra rolls!Cooked Croutons

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Waste Not your Hotdog Rolls”

  1. YOURURL.com says :

    I’m not positive where you’re getting your info, however great topic.
    I needs to spend some time finding out much more or working out more.
    Thank you for fantastic information I used to be looking for
    this information for my mission.

Leave a Reply

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog magazine for lovers of health, food, books, music, humour and life in general

ellenparkerwrites

Romantic suspense in the Heartland

Rose Bay Letters

Observations & Reflections from Home & Abroad from the Side-Kick Traveller

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

A Half Baked Idea

Eat your heart out

