Easy Recipes for Homemade Beeswax Lip Balm – Peppermint and Honey Almond

I am addicted to lip balm. I grew up with a “Chap Stick” in my pocket. If I didn’t have one in my pocket, my sister did. And lip balmif she didn’t then our mom or another family member did. It is one of those things that I feel naked without it somewhere nearby.

I still sometimes throw one in my pile when I am at the check-out counter, but for the most part, I make my own. It is so much easier than you think – put all the ingredients in a double boiler, melt, pour, cool, and use. That’s it. And, the ingredients are nothing more than things you probably have around your home, or could easily purchase.

The process of making your own lip balm literately takes about 10-15 minutes start to finish (minus the drying time). You use such small amounts of each ingredient that this is a much more economical way to fuel your love for lip balm. They are fun to make and are great as gifts or to do during a girls night home.

There are two main recipes that I use. One is a softer more oily texture while the other is a harder lip balm. The neat thing about making your own lip balm is that you can experiment with the basic recipe and add your own tweaks and flavors.

Essential oils for lip balms are found at most craft stores and you could go nuts trying to pick out the ones you want to use. Last time I was at the craft store I had to stop myself from grabbing the pineapple oil, cinnamon apple oil, lemon oil, and they even had chocolate essential oil. Chocolate lip balm? That might be my next recipe! YUM!

For now, I will share my two basic recipes and let you decide what flavor they can become. Each of these recipes fills approximately 12 lip balm tubes (can be purchased on Amazon) or 7 lip balm tins (can also be purchased on Amazon)

For the softer lip balm:

1 tablespoon of beeswax

1 tablespoon of sweet almond oil

1 tablespoon of cocoa butter

1 tablespoon of olive oil

5-10 drops of honey almond essential oil

For the firmer lip balm:

1 tablespoon of beeswax

1 tablespoon of coconut oil

1 tablespoon of cocoa butter

1 teaspoon of sweet almond oil (or can use olive oil)

15-20 drops of peppermint essential oil (this recipe I also make without an essential oil as the mixture of the cocoa butter, coconut oil, and beeswax smells wonderful together just as it is).

Pick the recipe you want to start with. Add all of the ingredients except the essential oil into a pourable metal double boiler.

bees wax

bees wax

double boiler

ingredients in double boiler

Put the double boiler over medium heat and let all of the ingredients gently melt. If you are using a shorter double boiler, make sure that the water does not boil over into your mixture.

melting

Once melted, add the essential oil and swirl around for a minute.

melted bees wax

On a paper towel line up your empty lip balm containers.

empty lip balm tubes

Carefully pour the hot (make sure to not get any on your skin as it will burn) liquid into the containers. If the mixture cools too quickly while you are pouring, put the pot back in the water and heat the mixture back up over the double boiler.

pouring lip balm

Let them cool overnight or for at least 10 hours before capping and using.

Now that you have the basics, you can tweak the recipes as you like. If one is too soft or too firm you can always adjust the next time (just remember to keep track) or if you want, you can empty your containers and re-melt your lip balm and add what you need in order to get the consistency and scent you want.

This blog post was shared at: From the Farm Blog Hop

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

18 responses to “Easy Recipes for Homemade Beeswax Lip Balm – Peppermint and Honey Almond”

  1. Tammy says :

    This lip balm is definitely Tammy Approved! I’ve got a tube sitting in my desk drawer right now and it smells awesome.

  2. Teri Whitney says :

    Love it! i add alittle UV protectant in it for sunscreen! awesome!

  3. Kristi says :

    Wow, I had no idea how easy this is! I pinned this so I can remember it when I’m ready to try it! Awesome!

    Thank you for linking up to
    From the Farm Blog Hop! We hope to see you again next week!

    ~Kristi@Let This Mind Be in You

  4. Jennifer says :

    Wow, I had no idea how easy this is! I can’t wait to try this.

  5. Vickie says :

    Wow, is it really that easy? Seriously? And I have been paying almost 3 bucks a pop for Burt’s Bees? Holy cow, I need to do this. Thank you for the instructions!

  6. Jodie says :

    OMG I can’t wait to try this. I’m addicted to peppermint chap stick and have tried them all…Bert’s is my favorite and I’ve been using it for a long time. Well now I can start saving $$$. One question…do we have to use either olive or almond oil. Just asking cause I don’t like almond and don’t use olive oil. Is there another substitute I can use?

    • vermontfarmheart says :

      I’m a big Burt’s fan myself but they do get expensive, especially if you go through them like I do. You can have fun experimenting with different oils you normally use around your kitchen. If you like a firmer lip balm you could use more coconut oil. I have hear that avocado oil is terrific for lip balms as is sunflower seed oil. The nice thing about making your own lip balm is that you can use the ingredients you like and create your own personal recipe. Enjoy experimenting!

  7. Sarha says :

    Is it possible to use an extract for smell?

    • vermontfarmheart says :

      I would recommend using essential oils because most extracts have a high level of fluid as they are water-based. This can cause issues in the mix as it may separate or sweat. You can always try it, but I have had the best luck with EO’s.

  8. Kristen says :

    Thanks for sharing! Where do you buy the beeswax from?!

    • vermontfarmheart says :

      Glad to share! There is actually a local bee keeping company about an hour from us and I go cheap and buy the sheets of beeswax that is used for rolling candles. They are only about a $1.50 a sheet. Much cheaper than the blocks of beeswax that are about $7 or $8 per five pound block. As lip balm takes so little wax, this works out much cheaper for me. I know you can buy those sheets at craft stores as well.

Leave a Reply

Looking Out the Window

sights, sounds and thoughts that come when looking out the window

The Lazy Suzan

"I think careful cooking is love, don't you?" ~J.C.

Lessons Learned from the Flock

Life raising children and chickens in New Hampshire

Cooking with a Wallflower

Cooking. Baking. Crafting. Writing.

Travel Chick Diaries

to inspire and be inspired ©TravelChickDiaries.com

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

